Brian and Jaibreaun discussion 1

5 thoughts on “Brian and Jaibreaun discussion 1

  1. Making a Facebook group for a certain class or a certain grouping of classes hadn’t crossed my mind, so that is something I would consider using for my own classroom. I was unaware that Facebook was giving so much monitoring power to groups, so that is a really great option! I hadn’t really considered the notifications aspect of Facebook either, but that is a really great consideration since students are already on Facebook so often they will see that and it’s not a hassle for them to view it.
    I thought that the idea of allowing students the opportunity to learn something on YouTube in a way that works for them and then bring it into their class was really interesting. Khan Academy may also be really useful for this type of learning. I liked how you spoke about giving quiet students the opportunity to speak up and ask questions in a more comfortable way. Even though students need to learn to socialize, some people will never be as outgoing and confident as others and that shouldn’t give an academic disadvantage.
    The main question I have from this discussion is how you would monitor a large group of 100+ (which is especially likely if you group together several classes), because the way the monitoring feature of Facebook was described made it seem as though a teacher would have to approve every comment, which doesn’t seem feasible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Paige, from my understanding, only the post would be approved or denied. The comments on those post aren’t sent through that same process, they’re just added under the post. Now that you make that point, it would be a little challenging to weed through several comments on a post to make sure the students discuss the topic at hand. However, I believe that’s where the high standards and expectations come in. And honestly, I think if someone was to post something very upsetting or disturbing the students would definitely let you know. That is a good point though and should be something to consider when creating the group.

      Like

    2. I actually have this blog page set to monitor comments. Before they are posted publically, I get an email telling me what was written, and by whom. I forgot I had it on, but I did that because this blog site was last used for 8th grade. Not all students comment, so there’s that… but also, it really doesn’t take that long to sift through… On this one, I can read the email individually, or when I log on, I can see all the comments made at once, read them… and click approve. I can also add people as approved “contributors” as in they are trusted enough to make comments that don’t have to be filtered. Finally, if something ever did get through… I can almost guarantee you will know about it before you actually read the comments on the blog or facebook. (if you give students your cell number… I always did and still do)

      Like

  2. I actually never considered Youtube as a social media until you guys brought it up. That is thinking outside the box! Youtube could be a great advantage in the classroom, especially if it was used in the way you brought up. Like Paige said, I never considered Facebook groups or pages. It is a great idea though! I would need to look more into. I also didn’t realize they had so many privacy restrictions. This could really come in handy with a class. Another thing that I learned while watching the video is that not only could it help the students, but it could help the teacher. You could show this to future employers. This could show that you are ahead of the game and willing to integrate technology in your lessons. I don’t think this was brought up directly for the teacher but just some food for thought.
    Looking up articles is a very good concept and teaches the student how to be more independent. Now, finding the right social media for this would be the issue. There are many that wouldn’t help such as Snapchat or Instagram. Before implementing it in my classroom, I would have to research more about different social medias. Brian, you brought up the argument that hanging around with people who do things like smoking and drinking will make the student think it is okay if they follow along. This is an interesting point. I think with social media, you can prevent the negative associations because you are focusing on your subject. That being said, the teacher would have to monitor closely for anything inappropriate. How would you prevent cheating? With most social media you can private message people. Students could easily just send each other pictures of their homework.

    Like

    1. “Students could easily just send each other pictures of their homework” How is this any different than “Hey, can I see your worksheet”… and copying it on the bus, or in the cafeteria before school…cheaters are gonna cheat… I don’t think preventing or worrying about cheating should factor into your decision about not using social media.

      Like

Leave a Reply

